Go, Jess, Go!

I’m getting more and more excited about school lately, and concurrently closer and closer to finishing!  I have a tangible end in sight.  If I structure things a certain way, I can definitely graduate after the Spring 2012 semester.

This involves a pretty hairy fall semester for me this year.  I’ll be taking 15 lecture hours, 3 lab hours, and I’m hoping to pick up 3 to 6 hours of work in a real lab.  I’ll be at school Monday – Friday for very long hours.  This begins August 14th.  I won’t be able to work much more than an occasional local booking during this time, so to pay for it all I’m going on several extended work trips this summer.

Most models don’t talk about how much money they make or how they’re making it as its slightly indelicate and seems to bruise relationships with photographers.  I’ve decided to talk about it.  I calculated how much money all this is going to cost, and I’m tracking progress towards my goal on the blog, so you guys can follow along and cheer me on.  Who knows, maybe it’ll be a good marketing tool!! I’m starting to feel like a pledge drive on public radio, but here goes.

Amount to earn monthly during school August – Dec:  $2300

Amount to earn monthly during school August – May: $1930

The goal is $0!

Simply, my first goal is to meet the Through Dec 2011 requirement.  This number includes tuition; rent, bills, food and insurance factored from today; gas driving to and from school, and travel costs for my summer tour.  The May 2012 requirement includes the Through Dec 2011 costs, and also factors spring tuition, rent, food, bills, gas etc.  The changes in this chart will appear in the red bar, the earned column, and I’ll update every week or so as I bebop around!

Suddenly even more motivated to shoot with me!? Great! Email me at jess@modeljessicarobinson.com about my summer travel dates:

May 8 OKC/Wichitah KS
May 10 AM KANSAS CITY
May 11 2PM – ?? KANSAS CITY
May 12 8AM – 12PM KANSAS CITY
May 13 – 5PM -?? ST LOUIS or KANSAS CITY
May 14 ST LOUIS, KANSAS CITY, CENTRAL IL, CHICAGO
May 15 ST LOUIS, KANSAS CITY, CENTRAL IL, CHICAGO
May 16 8AM – 4:30 PM CHICAGO
MAY 17 8AM – 12PM OPEN CHICAGO
May 17 8PM – ?? CHICAGO
MAY 18 CHICAGO
May 19 3:30 PM – ?? OPEN CHICAGO/MILWAUKEE
MAY 20 AM MILWAUKEE
May 21 8:30 PM – ?? CHICAGO
May 22 5 – 7PM – ??  CHICAGO/INDY/St. Louis
May 24 ~2PM or later MEMPHIS/LITTLE ROCK
June 13 ~ 14 VEGAS
June 16 ~ 21 SACRAMENTO/SAN FRANCISCO/SAN JOSE
June 22 ~ 28 LA/SAN DIEGO
June 30 ~ ? PHOENIX

July 6-22 OPEN, WHERE DO YOU WANT ME!?

July 23rd – 28 – Central Florida – TAMPA, ORLANDO, and eastward

August 2 -12 OPEN, WHERE DO YOU WANT ME?

2 Responses

  1. I put out the word to all of my several-dozen friends on FB, for what that’s worth! 🙂

    And no, there’s nothing unseemly about talking about money. You are a contractor, it’s a fact of life.

Leave a Reply

