Philipe

Upland California: its a stop I find we traveling models all want to make.  Droolworthy sexy fashiony images in high style – who could resist?

I made my stop in December.  I still get almost cutely nervous when I’m really excited about working with someone.  So looking something like a drowned rat, I showed up at his studio in the middle of a downpour dragging my scrappy bags behind me.  And I was so shy!

I always tell people “I’m just a girl, just a person” if they begin to seem a little starstruck.  Which I think is true – I think I’m very approachable and conversant about normal things.  Most of the time I don’t look ‘like a model.’ I stay in Motel 6 at least a month a year for God’s sake.   There’s a flip side though – when its show time there’s no room for modesty or second guessing yourself.  The Jessica Robinson Show features a baudy, witty, sexy, confident, capable, daring, and perhaps slightly dangerous woman.  Usually getting her out is no problem, but on the rare occasion that I’m feeling vulnerable I clam up.

Rockstar photographers definitely top the short list of my vulnerabilities.  It probably took me a year to feel like an equal collaborator when I first knew Ric, which is totally ridiculous because for the market I’m in, I’m at the top of my game.

The point is, I didn’t know what to expect when I timidly walked through Philipe’s door, and Jessica Robinson was experiencing stage fright!  He could have been a total dick and gotten great images of me, although I wouldn’t have enjoyed the shoot.  We’ve all been there.  I’m going to blow his cover here though:  Philipe is one of the kindest, most empathetic, most intelligent, and gentle photographers I have ever met.  He’s also extremely talented with an artistic soul. He takes no flattery, even though we all mean every word of it, and he has no tolerance for pretension or gossip. He was genuinely interested in me, and was able to sculpt me as the medium for his art without making me feel silly.  He worked with real passion and dedication to the images we were producing.  In short, he’s just a man, just a person – very approachable and conversant about normal things, who also happens to be a rockstar.  By the time I left I had all my confidence back, and I was so glad to have made his acquaintance.   I’ll definitely be back for more!

3 Responses

  1. Those photos are amazing.

  2. These are great, as always. Glad you had such a good time 🙂

  3. Very good review 🙂 I just found your blog, love reading it so far.

Leave a Reply

